Home    LittleBigPlanet 2 - 3 - Vita - Karting    LittleBigPlanet 3    [LBP3] Help!!
#1

Analog Layer Detection

Archive: 14 posts


I neeeeed analog layer detection!

(Also, I got the packs for MGS, Monsters, and History, because they came with my LBP1 purchase all that time ago.
And now, LBP3 and the PS-Store say I don't have them... which means a bunch of my moon stuff and captured items from the previous games are untouchable in LBP3 (much rage). If anyone has a solution for this, that'd be great.)

Anywho,
I'm building a 3D engine in the game, and need to calculate the (x,y,z) of tags. I can do vertical and horizontal tag-lines fine, but depth-wise... no such ease.

I had an idea a while ago regarding slides and sackbots.
With a sliding sackbot, it's change in depth would also change it's height.
So, by having the sackbot follow a tag depth-wise, the change in height that the sackbot would experience could be captured, and modified to be an analog depth sensor!
Unfortunately, the idea has very low tolerance for layer-changing speed. Go too fast and the sackbot will phase through the slide.

So, does anyone have any advice? A tool I overlooked? A glitch? I need something.
2017-04-28 23:19:00

Author:
Bonnell7
Posts: 100


This is sounding complicated and sorry, but I have no hint or idea, what you could do, to get such a layer detector! I'm curious what solutions our logic specialists will offer to you!

Have a fine weekend and good luck! Many greetings, Jürgen^^
2017-04-29 01:17:00

Author:
CuriousSack
Posts: 3981


This is very complicated indeed. Far too complicated for me, but I'll try...


If you get a direction splitter, and connect it to the up/down stick in a controllinator, doesn't it separate up and down? Couldn't you set up a bunch of counters and just reset the counter when the player presses up and vice versa?

I really don't have much clue as to what I'm saying here...
2017-04-29 14:04:00

Author:
Sir monacle
Posts: 4155


The only solution I've been able to find is using speed sensors and advanced movers.
Place a "speed sensor" (set to in/out speed detection only) (with maximum speed detection set to 100) onto the object to be tracked.
Place an "advanced mover" (maximum movement speed set to 100, acceleration and deceleration set to 100%) onto a vertical measurement implementation.
Connect the "speed sensor" output to the "advanced mover" vertical input.

Given prudent time, the measurement implementation is quite accurate, the issue is its need for time. The "advanced mover" lags behind what it's following with an error similar to the derivative of the "speed sensors" output. Or in other words, the greater the acceleration the tracked object experiences, the worse the error in the tracker.

Oh well...
2017-05-17 20:50:00

Author:
Bonnell7
Posts: 100


Could you post a screenshot of what you're doing (just enough to see what approach)? I'm confused what you are 2D mapping (Im assuming you are based on other threads)2017-05-18 00:18:00

Author:
koltonaugust
Posts: 1382


Could you post a screenshot of what you're doing (just enough to see what approach)? I'm confused what you are 2D mapping (Im assuming you are based on other threads)

I ain't quite ready to reveal anything yet. But when I do, I'll do so with explanations and all.
2017-05-18 20:41:00

Author:
Bonnell7
Posts: 100


i forget the values used, been a while since i've been on lbp, but you can wire an in/out speed sensor to a speed scale timer to achieve a working analogue depth sensor with a 0-100% range. i think the speed sensor was set to around 71.4 or similar and timer would be set really low maybe 0.12017-05-19 11:51:00

Author:
evret
Posts: 612


Could you post a screenshot of what you're doing (just enough to see what approach)? I'm confused what you are 2D mapping (Im assuming you are based on other threads)

Yeah. I have been messing with a lot of ways to try and detect layer positions. So far, nothing has worked. We need to see what you're trying to do to at least get a hint of what outcome you're trying to get. For all we know, a direct analog readout might not be necessary, but instead an indication of the position of the thing.

If only the read-out on the advanced In/Out mover actually worked.
2017-05-19 16:43:00

Author:
Devious_Oatmeal
Posts: 1799


The best thing I've created for X, y, z values uses pistons on a 2d map of x, y plane which has tags for the z values (up and down) which is then translated to the x, y, z plane by 2 pistons (x and z) with a bendy rail for the y movement (in and out). In order to get rid of the startup and end lag on the in and out (the bendy rail gets rid of follower lag) is to attach something with a follower to the hook rail for in and out movement. There is no noticeable control lag this way. The only thing I haven't tried is actually putting a sack boy into it to see how bad 1 follower lag will be. This is how i am trying in and out detection (by pushing the difficult part to the z axis)2017-05-19 17:40:00

Author:
koltonaugust
Posts: 1382


i forget the values used, been a while since i've been on lbp, but you can wire an in/out speed sensor to a speed scale timer to achieve a working analogue depth sensor with a 0-100% range. i think the speed sensor was set to around 71.4 or similar and timer would be set really low maybe 0.1

Basically what I'm doing... don't know about the timer though.


Yeah. I have been messing with a lot of ways to try and detect layer positions. So far, nothing has worked. We need to see what you're trying to do to at least get a hint of what outcome you're trying to get.

My first attempt was actually quite silly.
I knew that I needed to translate in/out motion to up/down or left/right so that tags could read the movement properly.
I also knew that ramps could ddo this quite well; as a sackbot goes up/down one, their in/out movement's proportional to their up/down movement. So I built a prototype:


http://i1383.photobucket.com/albums/ah298/Bonnell7PSN/Layer_Detector_Mk.1_zpsahlcd4hw.gif

The consequence of this device is that a sackbots movement can be floaty, and if their movement is too fast, they phase through the ramp and fall. No good...

So I just decided to do the basic approach and use a speed sensor linked to a mover:


http://i1383.photobucket.com/albums/ah298/Bonnell7PSN/Layer_Detector_Mk.2_zpsazbzrrsf.gif

It works, but like I said, it lags behind the object it's tracking according to its acceleration and velocity. Again, oh well.
2017-05-19 22:20:00

Author:
Bonnell7
Posts: 100


Basically what I'm doing... don't know about the timer though.

The timer outputs your analogue position, I've been using this to accurately detect depth for my own 3d levels for ages. No need for any external contraptions.
Distance = speed x time
2017-05-20 07:00:00

Author:
evret
Posts: 612


The timer outputs your analogue position, I've been using this to accurately detect depth for my own 3d levels for ages. No need for any external contraptions.
Distance = speed x time

Ooooh... I remember trying that in the past. I hooked it up to a zero-latency logic probe (5 digits) and found that it wasn't consistant:

I hooked a vertical-speed-sensor to some circle material that I could positionally control, sent its signal to a 0.1 timer, and sent that signal to a logic probe.
For some reason, gliding the circle material against a horizontal surface managed to alter the vertical signal, I couldn't figure out why.
My speed sensor wasn't set to local space, and yet I still got an anomalous signal.

I dunno... maybe I was doing something wrong.
2017-05-20 08:18:00

Author:
Bonnell7
Posts: 100


The timer outputs your analogue position, I've been using this to accurately detect depth for my own 3d levels for ages. No need for any external contraptions.
Distance = speed x time

I think this only works at lower speeds. At a speed of 4, it is pretty close in accuracy. But the faster the speed sensor tries to detect in how fast it moves, say 20, the more off it will be with smaller distances traveled.

And there is a very small lag-behind of transferring the counter's output to logic, say an advanced In/Out mover. But that lag is near impossible to get rid of with almost any method.
2017-05-20 16:32:00

Author:
Devious_Oatmeal
Posts: 1799


there will always be a frame of delay when using speed sensing, speed is calculated based on distance moved since the previous frame. to make it latency free the sensor would need to know where it would be moving to in the next frame.
there in no better way of detecting depth in lbp3, and i've had no issues with it losing position after heaps of testing at various speeds and several levels already relying on it.
as long as the speed doesn't exceed what the speed sensor is set to (i really dont think anyone needs in/movement that fast)
2017-05-20 18:23:00

Author:
evret
Posts: 612


LBPCentral Archive Statistics
Posts: 1077139    Threads: 69970    Members: 9661    Archive-Date: 2019-01-19

Datenschutz
Aus dem Archiv wurden alle persönlichen Daten wie Name, Anschrift, Email etc. - aber auch sämtliche Inhalte wie z.B. persönliche Nachrichten - entfernt.
Die Nutzung dieser Webseite erfolgt ohne Speicherung personenbezogener Daten. Es werden keinerlei Cookies, Logs, 3rd-Party-Plugins etc. verwendet.