Home    LittleBigPlanet 2 - 3 - Vita - Karting    LittleBigPlanet Vita    [LBPV] Help!
#1

Memorising high scores & other accumulated statistics

Archive: 12 posts


I'm make a minigame survival type level (shocking, right?) and I thought it would be cool to have a "Statistics" page in the main menu, which would show things like your best personal score, total time spent playing, games played, number of times x was done etc.

Getting and storing these values via memoriser isn't a problem at all, but I'm having some difficulty working out how to a) only show the player's best score, and b) add values from the current game to what is already stored in the memoriser.

I assumed the best score thing would be a simple case of wiring the output from the memoriser into an OR gate (set to highest value) along with a score sensor going to the memoriser input (see attached image). So effectively the memoriser will store either the current score OR the previously stored score, whichever is higher. However, this doesn't work, it justs saves the current score so when you next go to the main menu it'll always show your score from the last game, not the highest.

The same also happens when trying to add data, e.g. total enemies killed. I thought I would just need to set the OR gate to add the values together, but again that only remembers the values from your last game, not the total.

Obviously I'm doing something wrong. Any of you logic geniuses got any ideas?
2012-09-26 19:33:00

Author:
Nuclearfish
Posts: 927


I assume rtm's logic blog (http://www.lbpcentral.com/forums/blog.php?4150) would be of some use?2012-09-26 20:17:00

Author:
Fishrock123
Posts: 1578


I too am trying to accomplish this and thus far have gotten nowhere haha.
I cannot see the image by the way?
2012-09-26 20:27:00

Author:
malrotheo
Posts: 44


I assumed the best score thing would be a simple case of wiring the output from the memoriser into an OR gate (set to highest value) along with a score sensor going to the memoriser input (see pic below). So effectively the memoriser will store either the current score OR the previously stored score, whichever is higher. However, this doesn't work, it justs saves the current score so when you next go to the main menu it'll always show your score from the last game, not the highest.

I cannot see your picture, but what you describe is correct.

You'll need to trigger the bottom left input on the memorizer to store the value going into the node on the left. You can do this at predetermined times or just have it periodically update with a timer. Also, on your main menu, you need to have the signal coming from the memorizer's stored value, not the score sensor in the level.

As for...


b) add values from the current game to what is already stored in the memoriser.

It's the exact same setup, but tweak the OR gate to add instead of taking the highest value (new tweak setting).

Edit:

http://i9.api.vita.lbp.me/img/ft/bc95be909575b0647dfaabac11fbba89c9b00107.jpg
2012-09-26 20:36:00

Author:
comphermc
Posts: 5338


I can't see the pic either, but don't score sensors only trigger when you've reached a certain pre-determined score? I would have thought that if you want to use the score (that the game tracks) in a piece of logic, then you would have to convert it to a signal strength? I'm just confused about what you said regarding the score sensor being plugged into a memoriser... Surely it does nothing until you reach a score that is set by that sensor.2012-09-26 20:44:00

Author:
Scarface
Posts: 31


I can't see the pic either, but don't score sensors only trigger when you've reached a certain pre-determined score? I would have thought that if you want to use the score (that the game tracks) in a piece of logic, then you would have to convert it to a signal strength? I'm just confused about what you said regarding the score sensor being plugged into a memoriser... Surely it does nothing until you reach a score that is set by that sensor.

This is why I don't understand how to get it working... hmm..
2012-09-26 20:47:00

Author:
malrotheo
Posts: 44


I cannot see your picture, but what you describe is correct.

Sorry, should be fixed now. See attached image.


You'll need to trigger the bottom left input on the memorizer to store the value going into the node on the left. You can do this at predetermined times or just have it periodically update with a timer. Also, on your main menu, you need to have the signal coming from the memorizer's stored value, not the score sensor in the level.

That's exacly what I've done. Should be a bit clearer now you can see the image. I've got a tag sensor recieiving the score wirelessly going into the left input. The right output goes to a note on the menu. And the memoriser data is stored just before you finish the level.

EDIT: Yep, your image is pretty much exactly what I have. Yet it doesn't seem to work.


I can't see the pic either, but don't score sensors only trigger when you've reached a certain pre-determined score? I would have thought that if you want to use the score (that the game tracks) in a piece of logic, then you would have to convert it to a signal strength? I'm just confused about what you said regarding the score sensor being plugged into a memoriser... Surely it does nothing until you reach a score that is set by that sensor.

No, it works fine. Plug a score sensor set to a max of 1,000,000 into a note also set to a max number of 1,000,000, set the note to signal strength and it'll exactly match the score (which is what I'm doing to make a nice custom UI).

And even through the memoriser it DOES seem to work, in that it will store its value fine and output it correctly. It's just getting it to show the highest score that doesn't seem to be working.
2012-09-26 20:50:00

Author:
Nuclearfish
Posts: 927


Just tested this and it works:

http://i9.api.vita.lbp.me/img/ft/bc95be909575b0647dfaabac11fbba89c9b00107.jpg

What are your testing conditions? Editing in create mode will often clear your memorizer data. I think it's tied to rewinding somehow. Try playing a few times by replaying the level without returning to create mode.
2012-09-26 20:56:00

Author:
comphermc
Posts: 5338


Just tested this and it works:

What are your testing conditions. Editing in create mode will often clear your memorizer data. I think it's tied to rewinding somehow. Try playing a few times by replaying the level without returning to create mode.

Interesting. I'm testing by replaying too. Hmm.


Okay, just tried it again... it's working. Maybe I just wasn't replaying enough times or something. Thanks comph!
2012-09-26 21:13:00

Author:
Nuclearfish
Posts: 927


No, it works fine. Plug a score sensor set to a max of 1,000,000 into a note also set to a max number of 1,000,000, set the note to signal strength and it'll exactly match the score (which is what I'm doing to make a nice custom UI).

And even through the memoriser it DOES seem to work, in that it will store its value fine and output it correctly. It's just getting it to show the highest score that doesn't seem to be working.

Interesting I was just testing it out as you were writing your post. I haven't played too much with the vita's create mode yet, as I've been busy collecting in story mode, but all these new 'math' settings for the or & and gates are pretty awesome. I had a "determine which number is higher" logic in LBP2 made up, but this basically throws all that out the window now I also never realised that score could be used like this. In LBP2 I always dealt with numbers through signal strength. This vita version is just begging for a RPG game to made, with all these new tweaks to the logic & notes. Gonna have to play a little more with this... but I'm gettin very excited if it means what I'm thinking it means.

Looks like compher has a similar setup to yours, so I hope you get it figured out
2012-09-26 21:19:00

Author:
Scarface
Posts: 31


I'm having a few similar issues with memorizers.. Things that I thought would work one way but they don't..

Three specific things I need help with. The first being a setup that simply keeps track of how many times you have completed the level. The 2nd is transferring score between levels.. I have no idea why this one isn't working. I have the score giver set-up just like you guys have shown into a named memorizer but not only does it not transfer the score you had before you were level linked, but going back into the 1st level has the score back at 0..

The last thing I need help with is, like Nuke's level taking the highest score, taking the highest % of completion. In Bound, there is a set number of crates, chests & enemies. Each time you destroy, kill etc. one it adds them in their own catagory, then into a overall counter for the % completion. It always shows the % of the last playthrough, as expected, but adding the prior signal to the current (like in Nuke's score situation) wouldn't work for a % completion. It needs to take the highest value of completion (collected stuff). If it were added, it would overflow inaccurately because it is supposed to be based on %.

Any help with these issues would be an immense help. I've tried quite a few things that just aren't working...
2012-10-08 02:38:00

Author:
Dortr
Posts: 548


I'm having a few similar issues with memorizers.. Things that I thought would work one way but they don't..

Three specific things I need help with. The first being a setup that simply keeps track of how many times you have completed the level. The 2nd is transferring score between levels.. I have no idea why this one isn't working. I have the score giver set-up just like you guys have shown into a named memorizer but not only does it not transfer the score you had before you were level linked, but going back into the 1st level has the score back at 0..

The last thing I need help with is, like Nuke's level taking the highest score, taking the highest % of completion. In Bound, there is a set number of crates, chests & enemies. Each time you destroy, kill etc. one it adds them in their own catagory, then into a overall counter for the % completion. It always shows the % of the last playthrough, as expected, but adding the prior signal to the current (like in Nuke's score situation) wouldn't work for a % completion. It needs to take the highest value of completion (collected stuff). If it were added, it would overflow inaccurately because it is supposed to be based on %.

Any help with these issues would be an immense help. I've tried quite a few things that just aren't working...

the first 2 would depend on how/when u are triggering the memorizer. is it only being triggered at the end or does it update at regular intervals etc.

for the 3rd problem the same setup as shown b4 with the OR not set to add will always store the highest input, instead of adding to the previous (i dont believe nuclearfish was using the add function either, though it was mentioned)
2012-10-08 04:46:00

Author:
evret
Posts: 612


LBPCentral Archive Statistics
Posts: 1077139    Threads: 69970    Members: 9661    Archive-Date: 2019-01-19

Datenschutz
Aus dem Archiv wurden alle persönlichen Daten wie Name, Anschrift, Email etc. - aber auch sämtliche Inhalte wie z.B. persönliche Nachrichten - entfernt.
Die Nutzung dieser Webseite erfolgt ohne Speicherung personenbezogener Daten. Es werden keinerlei Cookies, Logs, 3rd-Party-Plugins etc. verwendet.