Home    LittleBigPlanet 2 - 3 - Vita - Karting    LittleBigPlanet 2    [LBP2] Help!
#1

Adjust minimum activation of analog stick digital signal with no latency? (Solved)

Archive: 8 posts


See the last post for a written description of the solution, or just message me (or evret if he doesn't mind) to see how it'd be done.

When using a divider to split the output of an analog stick, and then subtracting 20 (any arbitrary value) from it and using a >0 chip (to modify the minimum activation point), I lose the analog value. Together, this should effectively makes a >20 activation chip.

When tested however, it still only activates at ~75.

It doesn't matter which value I subtract, even a reduction of 99 (thereby making the only possible positive value 1) still activates the >0 component at an input of 75 (which should actually be a value of -24).

The ># method I'm using doesn't use a sequencer, and instead uses a no latency method. When tested without the divider and subtraction, it works properly as a >0 detector. As soon as I add the other logic, it fails and reverts to digital.

The sequencer method works and when measuring the signal it shows the analog value. If I use any logic besides a sequencer to actually use the value though, it only responds to digital input. I tested a speed scale timer, and it didn't react to the analog signal, only the digital.

(When I refer to digital, I mean the digital activation at the equivalent of ~75 analog signal)

I imagine this is some bug associated with the sequence of logic. The logic ignores the analog signal regardless of what settings and component I use (except for a sequencer).

I reverted back to the sequencer detection, but if someone has any idea how to solve this failure of the analog signal, it'd help optimize my logic.

BTW, sorry for the lack of photos, I won't be able to reach my PS3 for a while either
2012-08-13 16:14:00

Author:
SSTAGG1
Posts: 1136


Digital doesn't activate at 75%. the only time it may seem that way is when using analog stick outputs on a controlinator, however the digital is not affected by the analog signal at all, it is activated when the stick is moved a certain distance (tag sensors set to distance are similar). It seems your zero latency >0 chip is at fault here, when it worked during testing was a digital signal present? The only zero latency >0 method that produces a digital signal when analog is higher than 0% that I'm aware of involves controlinator inputs on a bot2012-08-13 22:45:00

Author:
evret
Posts: 612


Digital doesn't activate at 75%. the only time it may seem that way is when using analog stick outputs on a controlinator, however the digital is not affected by the analog signal at all, it is activated when the stick is moved a certain distance
That's what I meant when saying 75%. The digital signal activates at that point, and sets off the >0 chip.

The order of the logic is:
(splitter to split +/- of analog stick up/down or left/right)
(combiner to offset the value by -# to set minimum activation value of the >0 part)
(splitter to avoid a negative value from interfering later on)
(>0 component, see below)

When I was looking for the cause, I reduced the signal by 99%, but the digital signal is apparently overriding my analog input and replacing the -24 analog signal with a +1 digital signal. When the >0 component receives this, it uses the digital instead of the analog.

The >0 chip I'm using is a modified version of yours actually. NOT the input to an OR gate along with a -100% battery. Output the OR gate to a splitter. Use the negative output for the >0 output. When I give the NOT gate any value other than 0, the OR gate switches the the negative since the NOT'ed value is less than 100.

I assume this works as a >0 component with less lag than a sequencer. As it appears to work elsewhere.

It appears to be some local issue to the microchip and the layout of the logic. When I use the >0 method by itself, it works fine. When I put the signal through everything mentioned above, even without any analog modification, it fails and only activates when the digital signal activates from the analog stick.

When I use a sequencer to position the value before the >0 part though, it reads it fine as being whatever analog value I have, regardless of what other logic is used.

The NOT gate (in the >0 section) refuses to use this analog value though, instead only changing when the digital value activates.

I haven't tried using a sequencer to position the value just after the NOT gate, so it may be the NOT gate or OR gate that is causing the problem.

I don't think I've described this very well, so point out anything I need to clarify.

This isn't so much an issue, as something I find curiously buggy.
2012-08-14 01:09:00

Author:
SSTAGG1
Posts: 1136


What I was saying is, the 75% analog signal has nothing to do with activating the digital signal, the controlinator just sends digital at that point. Analog signals never influence digital signals in any way, the only exception being the L2 and R2 inputs on a controlinator. If you are using the >0% method I showed you ( or any variation of it that doesn't include a positional sequencer or controlinator inputs) you should be ignoring digital altogether. It only changes from 0% to 100% (analog) when analog input is not 0%. On the other side of things, digital signals can affect analog signals, most notably when using XOR or AND gates.

Edit: use the following method to remove digital From the input to prevent it influencing your result.
Wire a 50% battery to both the top input of a combiner and a NOT gate, then wire the NOT gate to the botto
Input of the combiner.
This creates a 0% analog signal with a digital ON signal.
Wire the combiner to a 2 port NOR gate, then wire your input to a NOT gate, then the NOT to the other input of the OR gate.
This will remove any digital signal and leave the analog.
Although I don't remember if it affects sign
2012-08-14 02:21:00

Author:
evret
Posts: 612


It's not that the analog signal is activating the digital, or that I'm trying to use the digital. What I mean is that when the digital value turns on, it sets off the >0 chip, whereas any analog value will not set it off. The problem is that my logic is incorrectly only using the digital signal and ignoring the analog. I'd prefer that it stop doing that I need the analog signal.

No matter what I do to change the analog value, nothing changes since the digital signal is what causes things to happen, even though the logic shouldn't operate like that.

I'll try out what you said to remove the digital completely, just to see if the analog value is truly bugged. If this problem is what I think it is, even a 100% analog signal with the digital signal removed will not activate the >0, since it appears things are only reacting to the digital signal.

I'm fairly certain it's the NOT gate that is causing the problem, but only when I have the splitting/combining logic before it. Somehow the series of splits and combinations corrupts the analog signal being sent to the NOT gate.

I suppose another way to say this is that only when the wire lights up does anything happen (so when the digital signal is sent). The >0 method shouldn't require the digital signal, but this is exactly the problem I'm having.

I may be able to get on tonight to check this out.

I've run into this problem a few other times, where thing stop responding to analog signals. Some of these were using AND and XOR's though, so I didn't give it much thought and went back to using sequencers.
2012-08-14 03:28:00

Author:
SSTAGG1
Posts: 1136


what are you using to see if anything is happening? when the above mentioned >0% method is activated it only sends 100% analog to the negative output of the splitter, it wont light it up as there is nothing to convert that to digital. if u are aware of that the only other possibility is one of the gates themselves has bugged, so remaking it, or capturing/copying and placing a new one should fix it. if all else fails just send me a copy of the offending chip and i'll see if i can make sense of it (if I dont catch you online )2012-08-14 08:32:00

Author:
evret
Posts: 612


what are you using to see if anything is happening? when the above mentioned >0% method is activated it only sends 100% analog to the negative output of the splitter, it wont light it up as there is nothing to convert that to digital. if u are aware of that the only other possibility is one of the gates themselves has bugged, so remaking it, or capturing/copying and placing a new one should fix it. if all else fails just send me a copy of the offending chip and i'll see if i can make sense of it (if I dont catch you online )
There's nothing wrong with the >0 method I think, just the steps before it. I'll get a pic of it, unlikely I'll be on late any time soon.

I should also mention that using a battery to replace the analog stick only works when the digital signal is sent at 100%.

My guess is that one of the components just stops transferring analog for some reason. I do recall remaking it on a different chip and ran into the same problem.

Before the analog signal is sent, all wires are unlit, and the final output of the series of splits and combinations is 0. When the digital signal is sent, the analog value jumps to whatever is being sent (~75% for controller stick, 100% for battery) and the wires light up. This has no effect on anything though, since the digital is being sent, and appears to override whatever would have responded to analog.

It's been a while since I've looked at it though, so I may have messed up some detail. I got rather frustrated when I assumed it would work and put it on everything, then had to go undo it all.

(Oh, yeah a little off-topic: If I copy the >0 microchip from the modular display you gave me, then try to move the components off the chip, it reliably produces a freeze. Happened twice, didn't want to risk any more. It seems like the wire pathing crashes the game as soon as I move it. I seem to recall a similar crash happening when you were trying to move something the first time you showed me.)

Anyhow, I don't think there's much more we can do without pics or retesting. I was hoping this was some issue someone already had a solution to
2012-08-14 15:16:00

Author:
SSTAGG1
Posts: 1136


While working with evret, we solved the issue.

The digital signal was actually required to properly set off the system. The method we were using prevented the digital signal from being sent onwards. Had a -100 analog value, but +1 digital signal (rather than a -1 digital signal).

The only method to set off a digital signal at <75% from analog sticks on a dcs is with a bot to pass the signal through the R2 and L2 triggers. Two dcs' were needed, one for U/D, another for L/R on the right stick. If both sticks were to be used, 4 seats would be needed.

The U/D (or L/R) was split, then the modification (I subtracted 40 to set the minimum activation to 40), then the +ve passed through L2, and the negative passed through R2.

The R2 and L2 output would then properly send both the analog and digital signals at any value >0 (but since modded -40, signals send at anything >40)

Hope this helps anyone who might have had similar issues. Renamed the thread title to better identify the issue.
2012-08-15 23:56:00

Author:
SSTAGG1
Posts: 1136


LBPCentral Archive Statistics
Posts: 1077139    Threads: 69970    Members: 9661    Archive-Date: 2019-01-19

Datenschutz
Aus dem Archiv wurden alle persönlichen Daten wie Name, Anschrift, Email etc. - aber auch sämtliche Inhalte wie z.B. persönliche Nachrichten - entfernt.
Die Nutzung dieser Webseite erfolgt ohne Speicherung personenbezogener Daten. Es werden keinerlei Cookies, Logs, 3rd-Party-Plugins etc. verwendet.