Home    LittleBigPlanet 1 - PSP - Tearaway -Run Sackboy Run    LittleBigPlanet 1    [LBP1] Help! [Archive]
#1

Need Emitter help

Archive: 18 posts


Im still stuck with my original problem on my tank level. The tank is a complex object so I dont want several on the level at once or several emitters for each tank. I need one emitter so when a new tank is emitted, the first tank will dissolve. Catch is this emitter needs to emit at about 3 places through the level.

So right now I have a strip of dark matter up high from one end of level to the other. On it a simple motorized cart. On that an emitter. At various points I have dissolve material as stops at each location a player would be able to call up a tank. This is what I had in mind but not sure how to execute.

Beginning of level a switch.
Player hits switch.
Emitter Cart emits tank.
Player gets in and proceeds.

Player passes a set point. Dissolve blocking cart dissolves so emitter goes to next.

Emitter reaches next and is stopped by dissolve.

This continues till the end.

Mainly need help with switching. Not sure have to relay control to next switch, to next, etc.
2008-12-30 13:04:00

Author:
rz22g
Posts: 340


You could do it with 2 pistons.

1 piston, attached to the emitter, starts at the start point where you want the tank to be emitted first. A switch is attached which is set to direction and moves the piston to the next location you want the tank to be emitted.

Another piston is attached to the 1st one. It moves the emitter to the third location you want the tank to be emitted when you reach a point.

Sorry if it's badly explained.
2008-12-30 13:22:00

Author:
Killian
Posts: 2575


Perhaps a creature brain set to follow with a big sensor radius might keep the emitter cart near the player.

Then have a big sensor with one shot connected to the emitter, and the max emitted as one.

When the player dies, the sensor connection severs and a new tank will appear... that's one theory at least. But it will appear pretty much where the last one was, which is not always ideal....

But maybe this line of thought might help.
2008-12-30 13:59:00

Author:
Elbee23
Posts: 1280


I think Killian's solution is the easiest. Use pistons instead of a cart. At each checkpoint, use a sensor connected to a permanent switch set to direction, which will make one of the pistons stretch out.

May I ask how you handle the emitting of multiple tanks at the same place? Your tank has a "controll element" inside dark matter, which will prevent a second tank from being emitted at the same place, because the dark matter is still there.
I have an idea how to solve this, but it doesn't work due to the 1.07 wire recognizing bug. If an object, that has two seperate parts is emitted again with maximum emitted set to 1, then only one part of the previously emitted object dissolves for me.
2008-12-30 15:19:00

Author:
Shiwayari
Posts: 167


The max emmited = 12008-12-30 18:22:00

Author:
DRT99
Posts: 431


I think Killian's solution is the easiest. Use pistons instead of a cart. At each checkpoint, use a sensor connected to a permanent switch set to direction, which will make one of the pistons stretch out.

May I ask how you handle the emitting of multiple tanks at the same place? Your tank has a "controll element" inside dark matter, which will prevent a second tank from being emitted at the same place, because the dark matter is still there.
I have an idea how to solve this, but it doesn't work due to the 1.07 wire recognizing bug. If an object, that has two seperate parts is emitted again with maximum emitted set to 1, then only one part of the previously emitted object dissolves for me.


Hmmm. have not tried to emit more than one yet. Right now I have the tank with some dissolved pasted between dark and tank. Out a switch on the dissolve set to 1 shot. On the level, at each point the tank can be emitted, I plan on having a sensor that will activate that switch, dissolving the dissolve material immediately. That part I have already tested and it works. I just need to try to emit more that one today and see if all of the object dissolved. If not then Im screwed and people willl just have to deal with 1 tank.


DRT99... without an explanation I can only assume your saying set emitter to max 1. Im aware of that. Im trying to use one emitter for the whole level. Setting max to 1 on emitter does not affect anothe emitter, just that one.
2008-12-30 18:33:00

Author:
rz22g
Posts: 340


i'm a little confused as to what the question is, but from my understanding of the question and your response, i'm not sure if it has been answered yet. my understanding is that your question is not how to move the emitter (you've got that as far as i can tell, a cart should work fine as would pistons as suggested... but your original idea should be fine), but rather how to move the switch that the player triggers as you can only have one switch attached to an object (emitter). am i getting that correctly?

if i am, just use an 'or' gate. 3 separate switches fire one of 3 pistons that contain a magnetic key switch on the end. when the pistons extend they each get close to the magnetic key and trigger it. the magnetic key triggers the emitter.

again, not sure if that was your question but it seemed like it was. hope that helps / is not something you already know.
2008-12-31 09:44:00

Author:
Conall-Star
Posts: 157


I don't get the question exactly, but I think I have a good understanding of what you need. You need one emitter, to move throughtout the whole level?


If so, I have a kind of simple way of doing it, have just 1 piston. Start from the starting point and end at the ending point, the piston would have the emitter attached, and a key switch set to "On/Off"

In all the stops, where you would like a new tank to emit, you would simply add a block of dissolve material, blocking the pistons path, with a key attached to the block of dissolve material.

For the starting, since it's on On/Off, you would set it to Off, having a dissolve block near it, with a key, keeping it off. Now, once the tank has emmitted, Sackboy would enter, where you would have a sensor switch. Which would be attached to the dissolve material set to "One Shot" or whatever it is.

Now since the block and key are now gone, the piston and emitter and switch move freely to the next stop, which would be blocked by a dissolve material and key, causing it to stop once more.

When Sackboy reaches this stop, he emits another tank. When he emits it, he enters, have another sensor switch do the exact same thing. And you just keep repeating.

I don't really see how this would work, if it doesn't then I'm sorry for wasting your time.
2008-12-31 10:34:00

Author:
Whalio Cappuccino
Posts: 5250


I think that wouldn't work, as a piston that is "on" will still move back, even though something is blocking it's path, preventing it to move forward. For example, let's assume the distance behind the "block" would take the piston 5 seconds to go through. If it is blocked at that point, then it will start moving back after those 5 seconds, because that is what it would do if the block wasn't there.

I think the problem is already solved (?) and using multiple pistons works just fine. You don't need any OR Gates for this one, only some permanent switches. The problem left is wether emitting a new tank/dissolving the old one will work. I guess it won't due to the 1.07 bug. Hope the fix will be there soon, it's already been too long for such an essential bug.
2008-12-31 11:08:00

Author:
Shiwayari
Posts: 167


DRT99... without an explanation I can only assume your saying set emitter to max 1. Im aware of that. Im trying to use one emitter for the whole level. Setting max to 1 on emitter does not affect anothe emitter, just that one.

I know that, I was answering the above post

Best Idea Would PROBABLY be a number of carts with pistons in between them, and a cart on the very end that has the emmitter, (setting piston stiffness to 'off' means that you can better follow the altitude of your level.

At each tank spawn area, when the player activates the new tank spawner, TWO things MUST happen.
1-A permanent swich Extends a piston, which leads the Emmitter Cart to be above the tank spawn area.
2-A second piston moves a magnetic key closer to the emmiter cart's rail, so that ONLY when the cart is above the checkpoint, the key activates a magnetic swich set to 'one shot' ON the cart, which powers the emmiter, which spawns ONE tank.

Did that make ANY sense at all?



Ya, it will need a TON of tweaking.
2008-12-31 19:00:00

Author:
DRT99
Posts: 431


The way you did the "rolling" emitter part will work fine.

Here's how you do the switch part:

Dark matter with 1 key switch and 3 emitters above it.

Each "button switch" attaches to one of the 3 emitters.

Each emitter emits a key which drops on the single key switch. The key switch activates the single tank emitter.
2008-12-31 19:24:00

Author:
CCubbage
Posts: 4430


Wow lots of responses. Hehe.. Sorry DRT99.. I didnt mean any offense. Hope you didnt take it that way.

I will have to read over all the suggestions. It takes me a little while to grasp whats going on and even then I might not get it

But yes... Im looking to have one emitter that will emit a tank at beginning, then at two other determined points IF the player initiates the emitting of the tank. If they do, any existing tank will dissolve. Im assuming I need to go with one emitter for the dissolve part, otherwise I would need more switch and sensors to make tank A go away, when tank B is emitted, etc..

CCubbage... Im liking the way your idea sounds. Its going to come down to which idea raises the thermometer the least.

Thanks for all the suggestions.
2008-12-31 22:16:00

Author:
rz22g
Posts: 340


The way you did the "rolling" emitter part will work fine.

Here's how you do the switch part:

Dark matter with 1 key switch and 3 emitters above it.

Each "button switch" attaches to one of the 3 emitters.

Each emitter emits a key which drops on the single key switch. The key switch activates the single tank emitter.


why use 3 emitters to drop keys instead of 3 pistons that simply push the keys closer to the key switch? if i'm reading this right we're saying the same thing just using emitters or pistons, and i'd think pistons would hurt the thermometer less.
2008-12-31 22:34:00

Author:
Conall-Star
Posts: 157


ya, thats what I haad writen down above.2009-01-01 00:38:00

Author:
DRT99
Posts: 431


I tried the emitters and they did not make the therm budge a bit so Im not concerned with that now. Problem now is that due to the Object Save Bug, Im having to use dissolve to connect my tank and dark matter. Apparently this is confusing the emitter or maybe its just the fact that the tank and dark matter are not actually one thing. Anyway I have 1 at a time set for emit but it is not dissolving the first tank, or the second tank or.. etc.. so looks like a one tank level for now.2009-01-01 02:48:00

Author:
rz22g
Posts: 340


At each tank spawn area, when the player activates the new tank spawner, TWO things MUST happen.
1-A permanent swich Extends a piston, which leads the Emmitter Cart to be above the tank spawn area.
2-A second piston moves a magnetic key closer to the emmiter cart's rail, so that ONLY when the cart is above the checkpoint, the key activates a magnetic swich set to 'one shot' ON the cart, which powers the emmiter, which spawns ONE tank.


I just tried that out with a little car I just made, It seems to work, sorry for the late response.
2009-01-01 03:15:00

Author:
DRT99
Posts: 431


why use 3 emitters to drop keys instead of 3 pistons that simply push the keys closer to the key switch? if i'm reading this right we're saying the same thing just using emitters or pistons, and i'd think pistons would hurt the thermometer less.
Out of curiosity (and I am not being sarcastic, I actually don't know the answer to this), why would a piston use less resources than an emitter?

It seems to me that an emitter would use less resources as well as CPU usage. An emitter is a simple object. It has a few properties and a reference to an object, however it doesn't require any physics. It just has to sit there and do nothing until it is told to emit something.

On the other hand, it seems to me a piston is a relatively complex object. It has to react to the physics around it constantly. Even though it SEEMS simple (in the real world a piston is a piece of metal), in the game even though it seems deceptively simple, it is really a fairly complex object.

I would LOVE to know the real answer to this (Media Molecule if you are listening). I've been using tons of emitters, but not having then operate until the player is within range to see the affects of them in order to guarranty things run smoothly.

(of note, I completely understand they are similar solutions, I'm certainly not trying to take credit for any amazing discovery. Just thought I could be helpful. The emitter idea seemed easier to throw together quickly).
2009-01-03 23:56:00

Author:
CCubbage
Posts: 4430


I think that wouldn't work, as a piston that is "on" will still move back, even though something is blocking it's path, preventing it to move forward. For example, let's assume the distance behind the "block" would take the piston 5 seconds to go through. If it is blocked at that point, then it will start moving back after those 5 seconds, because that is what it would do if the block wasn't there.

I think the problem is already solved (?) and using multiple pistons works just fine. You don't need any OR Gates for this one, only some permanent switches. The problem left is wether emitting a new tank/dissolving the old one will work. I guess it won't due to the 1.07 bug. Hope the fix will be there soon, it's already been too long for such an essential bug.


Actually, when it reaches what is blocking it, it will have a key set on that block, causing the piston to turn "Off" so it would work.
2009-01-04 00:17:00

Author:
Whalio Cappuccino
Posts: 5250


LBPCentral Archive Statistics
Posts: 1077139    Threads: 69970    Members: 9661    Archive-Date: 2019-01-19

Datenschutz
Aus dem Archiv wurden alle persönlichen Daten wie Name, Anschrift, Email etc. - aber auch sämtliche Inhalte wie z.B. persönliche Nachrichten - entfernt.
Die Nutzung dieser Webseite erfolgt ohne Speicherung personenbezogener Daten. Es werden keinerlei Cookies, Logs, 3rd-Party-Plugins etc. verwendet.