Home    LittleBigPlanet 2 - 3 - Vita - Karting    LittleBigPlanet 2    [LBP2] Help!
#1

Lost Vikings-ish Conundrum

Archive: 14 posts


Hey guys, I'm trying to find a way to switch between and control three individual sackbots a la Lost Vikings. Currently I have a follower/controlinator set up to cycle between the three characters (per Compher's tutorial) which works great, but I can't find a good solution for controlling the sackbot once I get to them.

Any suggestions? I've tried splitting the button signals using selectors, but I can't get the analog signals to read properly. They're always on.

Thanks for your help
2011-03-24 13:07:00

Author:
Unknown User


Nevermind, you got the following part right <_< hmph...2011-03-24 13:45:00

Author:
MonarioBabii
Posts: 128


What you want to do is wire all controls from the controllinator sackboy steps into into three different controllinators, set to transmit a different color each. Then have a selector that enables one of these three transmitter DCS. Then simply have each of the controllable sackbots have a different color DCS receiver.2011-03-24 14:30:00

Author:
Linque
Posts: 607


What you want to do is wire all controls from the controllinator sackboy steps into into three different controllinators, set to transmit a different color each. Then have a selector that enables one of these three transmitter DCS. Then simply have each of the controllable sackbots have a different color DCS receiver.

The transmitter is the follower object's controllinator though... and if you only want one follower to follow one of the three sackbots at a time, you can't really pick 3 different transmitter colors, because you'd need 3 different followers D: unless I misunderstood you?


This is making my head hurt D: I'm trying to do it in my moon to find a way but, the only thing I can think of is using selectors and loooots of OR gates; basically when a selector's port (say the first port, which may be, say, Square), the same port will trigger the other 2 selector's 1st ports, which is the square, and aside from the first Sackbot which it's selector's 1st port feeds the microchip containing the receiving controllinator, the other 2 sackbots selectors 1st ports are wired to nothing, so in theory, when you hit Square, only one Microchip would activate, and that's the first Sackbot's microchip, containing it's receiving controllinator. Then the same goes for all the other buttons to activate all the other sackbots.... Buuuut this isn't quite working the way I thought it would <_< My selectors are acting as permanent switches D: So I guess you would need to use the same principle, but instead of the selector's dead ports not wiring into anything, or the microchips, have all the wires pass through resettable permanent switches, like one shot counters.
The whole system in my moon is a royal, big mess at the moment, can't find a simpler way to do it/explain it, even while I might actually be wrong >_> sorry D:

/me's head explodes.
2011-03-24 14:42:00

Author:
MonarioBabii
Posts: 128


Open up the ciruit boards of the different sackbots and place each remote controlled DCS inside a microchip.
Then wire your switch routine to activate the microchip when changing to the respective sackbot.

This way, you can use the same colored receiver for all sackbots as they'd only be active if the microchp is receiving power.

To make this work smoothly you can use sackbot checkpoint logic.

Here's an example by the brilliant comphermc:

http://img189.imageshack.us/img189/2225/lbpcheckpoint.png

Explanation: This would also go into the sackbot circuit board, but this must always be active!
In your case you'd want to rename the tag sensor and the tags to something like "Viking deactivation".
You can use the same for all of them. The wire going to the green tag would go to the microchip containing your receiving DCS and whatever special powers you have given the sackbot.

So when you come zooming in your transmitting DCS, the player sensor will switch the selector to position 2 feeding power to the microchip while triggering the red "Viking deactivation" tag.
But wouldn't that also deactivate the Viking I have gone to?
No, it won't because tags can't trigger tag sensors that are on the same circuit board, but it will trigger the ones in the remaining vikings.
2011-03-24 15:10:00

Author:
Discosmurf
Posts: 210


I'm sorry, I'm not following what the problem with my solution is. Should work just fine. If you need to adjust follower settings in addition to switching the activated transmitter controllinator, then what's preventing you?

Three controllinators each transmitting in different colors is the way I would go. I'm sure there are other ways to do it but it's simple enough and not too thermo intensive.
2011-03-24 15:30:00

Author:
Linque
Posts: 607


@Linque:

Sure, but comphermc's method eliminates a loooooot of wires and is directly copyable without having to do any further wiring.
2011-03-24 15:42:00

Author:
Discosmurf
Posts: 210


... Three controllinators each transmitting in different colors is the way I would go. I'm sure there are other ways to do it but it's simple enough and not too thermo intensive.

Well there's no problem, per say, it's just doctorpuppies is obviously looking for a way to handle the system with a single follower.
Is your solution about swapping followers, or like... you'd control 3 transmitters in a single follower/place? This is where I got a bit lost :/
2011-03-24 18:16:00

Author:
MonarioBabii
Posts: 128


I'm going to try that checkpoint thing when I get back from work in the morning. Thanks for your help, guys.

It's a huge problem, but figuring this stuff out is what makes it so rewarding

**Originally I had had planned to use three stationary controlinators and cameras, but I've found that the follower setup works really well, so if it's at all possible to do I'd really love to use it. If there's a better solution using my original idea though, I'd be open to that too
2011-03-24 23:12:00

Author:
Unknown User


Here's an example by the brilliant comphermc:

http://img189.imageshack.us/img189/2225/lbpcheckpoint.png


I think Discosmurfs simple and solid approach is the way to go - with a few modifications though...

When it comes to Selectors, a lower lying input will always dominate a higher lying one, if multiple input signals are sent to the selector at the same time.
Therefore in this example, if one Vikings were to pas another one, the moment they "overlap" (and the sackboy in the DCS were in range of both of their Tag Sensors), the lower lying input #2 on both their chips would dominate the higher lying input #1, enabling control of both Vikings at the same time!


This can simply be remedied, by switching the order of the inputs and outputs of the Selector. Meaning Player Sensor goes to input #1, Tag Sensor goes to #2, and a wire goes from output #1 to the Microchip.

EDIT: I thought about re-making the first level of The Lost Vikings back in the Beta, but I never got aound to it... I'm excited to see what you will come up with
2011-03-25 12:00:00

Author:
Slaeden-Bob
Posts: 605


SUCCESS!!

Okay, first of all, thanks again to everyone that posted here. You all helped me so much with this.

Second, I found that for this situation, no matter what I tried, I couldn't keep the player sensor from activating the inactive characters when I passed by them with the active one. So I got rid of the player sensor altogether and instead ran wires to the same tag and selector inputs that the player sensor ran to, but instead I ran them from the corresponding output from my character selector logic. Works like a charm now.

This is so great. Now I just have to finish up a couple of the powers and then I can start working on levels!
2011-03-26 15:11:00

Author:
Unknown User


Very good! Happy to help!

From what I understand, your present solution is pretty much what I posted on LBPlanetarium? Not trying to take credit or anything, but just wanted to know if it worked. I'm not able to create at the moment because I'm away for work, so I'm stuck with only visualizing logic in my head...
2011-03-26 16:10:00

Author:
Discosmurf
Posts: 210


Oh yeah, looks like that was exactly what I did

I hadn't checked the Planetarium post in a while because I thought I already had the answer here...it absolutely works. Thanks Disco
2011-03-26 21:21:00

Author:
Unknown User


I had done this before. The tricky part is getting it to work with 2-4 players.2011-03-27 12:43:00

Author:
Unknown User


LBPCentral Archive Statistics
Posts: 1077139    Threads: 69970    Members: 9661    Archive-Date: 2019-01-19

Datenschutz
Aus dem Archiv wurden alle persönlichen Daten wie Name, Anschrift, Email etc. - aber auch sämtliche Inhalte wie z.B. persönliche Nachrichten - entfernt.
Die Nutzung dieser Webseite erfolgt ohne Speicherung personenbezogener Daten. Es werden keinerlei Cookies, Logs, 3rd-Party-Plugins etc. verwendet.