Home    LittleBigPlanet 2 - 3 - Vita - Karting    LittleBigPlanet 2    [LBP2] Help!
#1

Switching Sackbots?

Archive: 11 posts


Hey I was messing around in LBP2 and started to wonder if there is a (simple) way to interchange sackbots in the same spot.. seamlessly?
(And if so, how)

By that I mean "change" to another pre-determined sackbot on the same spot on which you were standing, (as if you were switching costumes)?

The concept is this: The player is supposed to enter control of a Sackbot which has different interchangeable 'powers'. To accomplish this, I hope to set up a system where by pressing a certain button (probably D-PAD) you could switch between these "powers" (only one active at a time) using different pre-determined/wired sackbots, which can hopefully be created (emitted?) over the same spot as the last one whilst the current one is deleted... And at the same time delivering control over from the direct-control-seat to the newly created sackbot.

If this is possible, could anyone possibly give me instructions on how to do so? I was fairly good at LBP1 but the microchip/logic system are new to me as are sackbots.

Any and all help would be appreciated. Thanks!

-Hawk
2011-03-02 22:54:00

Author:
Hawk14
Posts: 105


Wait! Don't emit sackbots!

I'll share what I did for my Jak and Daxter eco-based powers which is perfect because I set mine up with the d-pad as well.

Of course, as I'm sure you already know the d-pad outputs can be split with direction splitters. Pretty basic, right? Well, I connected my four new outputs into a five port selector. I used five because I wanted a default position (which was activated by all four inputs being inactive with an XOR with four ports and a NOT switch) at which none of the powers were active.

From that point on I ran those four ports which I actually want powers to be activated by into one shot switches (all deactivated via timer AND the selection of a different power). Those one shot switches lead all activate seperate microchips. Each have a DIFFERENT corresponding controlinator with it's own controls tweaked to support a different power. SOOOO... When a port on the selector is chosen it activates a controlinator which overrides the sackbot and the original receiving one that has direct control over the sackbot.

That was a bit long winded. Lemme know if you have trouble understanding it and I'll take some snapshots.
2011-03-02 23:36:00

Author:
DigiOps
Posts: 111


Wait! Don't emit sackbots!

I'll share what I did for my Jak and Daxter eco-based powers which is perfect because I set mine up with the d-pad as well.

Of course, as I'm sure you already know the d-pad outputs can be split with direction splitters. Pretty basic, right? Well, I connected my four new outputs into a five port selector. I used five because I wanted a default position (which was activated by all four inputs being inactive with an XOR with four ports and a NOT switch) at which none of the powers were active.

From that point on I ran those four ports which I actually want powers to be activated by into one shot switches (all deactivated via timer AND the selection of a different power). Those one shot switches lead all activate seperate microchips. Each have a DIFFERENT corresponding controlinator with it's own controls tweaked to support a different power. SOOOO... When a port on the selector is chosen it activates a controlinator which overrides the sackbot and the original receiving one that has direct control over the sackbot.

That was a bit long winded. Lemme know if you have trouble understanding it and I'll take some snapshots.Yeah... I didn't really understand. Using this implementation does a new sackbot appear over the old one? Or is it the same one?

Also, what do you mean by a 'direction splitter'? I'm new to LBP2's features.
2011-03-02 23:52:00

Author:
Hawk14
Posts: 105


With that set up you don't need more than one sackbot to use your different powers.

A direction splitter is a logic piece that seperates output signals into positive and negative. Used with the Left Stick, Right Stick, or D-pad you can split the "Up/Down" and "Left/Right" output into just Left, Right, Up, and Down

Left/Right turns into Left for Negative and Right for Positive
Up/Down turns into Down for Negative and Up for Positive

Kinda like an X/Y axis

If you want them to switch costumes you could try putting a behavior chip on the microchip that was activated by the D-Pad/selector combo.
2011-03-03 00:07:00

Author:
DigiOps
Posts: 111


I'm not sure if you can change costumes while in play mode by a behavior chip.2011-03-03 10:38:00

Author:
Devious_Oatmeal
Posts: 1799


DigiOps idea will work if you want to use the same sackbot for the whole level. His reply would allow 1 sackbot to control all the different powers which can be selected by using the D pad.

A direction splitter is a little piece of logic it's under Advanced Logic in your popit.

If you want to replace 1 sackbot with another you can do it. You'll just need to make a setup that destroys your old sackbot and spawns another immediately on destruction. You can achieve this pretty easily by using tags. Make a holo that follows your sackbot using a tag follower and a gravity tweaker. On the holo put an MC with an emitter for each type of sackbot you will want to emit. Now put a tag sensor connected to each emitter. label each tag sensor with a different name. This will emit the correct sackbot when the Current sackbot encounters the tag.

On each of the sackbots MC put a copy of the tag sensors you made for the emitters. Place an OR gate with enough inputs for all the sensors. Connect the outputs of the sensors to the OR gate and the output of the OR gate to a destroyer.

Now when Sackbot 1 encounters the Sackbot 2 tag it will be destroyed and the emitter on the holo will emit Sackboy2. etc etc
2011-03-03 15:13:00

Author:
Chicago51
Posts: 258


If you want to replace 1 sackbot with another you can do it. You'll just need to make a setup that destroys your old sackbot and spawns another immediately on destruction.

In this setup, however, it is best to limit the logic on your sackbots and have them there for eye candy only; put a DCS on them that allows for control once they are spawned and here and there some animation or, as Chicago points out, self-destruction logic. All the big stuff should go on your piece of holo following them around. Because the bots are now emitted, you can only use tags to communicate between bot and holo, which should not be much of a problem since most of the logic is now on the holo anyway.
2011-03-03 15:33:00

Author:
Antikris
Posts: 1340


Hmmm... this sounds more complicated than I thought at first.

I only half understand what you guys are saying, as I don't have much experience yet on LBP2.
And I want the Sackbots' appearance to change aswell, so I'll probably have to go with the other suggestion.

But I have another question: Is it possible to emit a Sackbot with a power-up? e.g. one with Grabinator's attached?
2011-03-04 02:18:00

Author:
Hawk14
Posts: 105


I think what you'd have to do to emit a sackbot with a power up is to have it pick up the power up and capture it. After its in your goodies back you should be able to emit it as-is.2011-03-04 06:16:00

Author:
DigiOps
Posts: 111


I think what you'd have to do to emit a sackbot with a power up is to have it pick up the power up and capture it. After its in your goodies back you should be able to emit it as-is.

This is the right way. Keep in mind that there is a limit on what sackbots can use. Grabinator, Creatinator, Paint Gun and Controlinator are fine, but it is a pity that the Grapple Hook cannot be used by bots. In a level I am making, this little fact changes everything. ("Snakes! Why did it have to be snakes?!")

Hawk14, if this information is all a bit heavy at the moment, I recommend you follow the Tutorial forum (http://www.lbpcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?127-LBP2-Tutorials) for a while. There is a lot of relevant stuff on there, including links to video tutorials. Most of what I learned I picked up there and on this Help forum. Complex stuff, like vehicles, NPC's, bosses, puzzles, etc. I usually develop in a separate crater on my Moon, especially if the concept or mechanic of something is uncommon.
2011-03-04 10:32:00

Author:
Antikris
Posts: 1340


Oh my god ! "Why did it have to be snakes ?" is your level?
My entry for the contest made with the picture of guys in a tricky situation has the following text : What would Sack Jones do ? At least it's not snakes.
Mm* I guess you tried to do something too hard. I once thought about this too. You have to use multiple bots to change costume, but why make your life so hard? Just keep the same costume and focus on the main point : creating a nice level. People won't really care about how hard it was to make it possible to change costume, they'll just think "this level is a good idea".
And, Chicago51 said to use a gravity tweaker, but he got confused. Gravity has no impact on hologram.

*this is just the mm sound, noting to do with media molecule -
2011-03-07 01:02:00

Author:
Unknown User


LBPCentral Archive Statistics
Posts: 1077139    Threads: 69970    Members: 9661    Archive-Date: 2019-01-19

Datenschutz
Aus dem Archiv wurden alle persönlichen Daten wie Name, Anschrift, Email etc. - aber auch sämtliche Inhalte wie z.B. persönliche Nachrichten - entfernt.
Die Nutzung dieser Webseite erfolgt ohne Speicherung personenbezogener Daten. Es werden keinerlei Cookies, Logs, 3rd-Party-Plugins etc. verwendet.