Home    LittleBigPlanet 2 - 3 - Vita - Karting    LittleBigPlanet 2    [LBP2] Help!
#1

How To Create A Sackbot Boss That Fights You Back

Archive: 20 posts


I'm creating a platforming level similar to a Megaman. My Sackbot can shoot energy blasts, jump high, and sprint on the ground and in the air. I made enemy sackbots with similar abilities, including bosses. The problem is, how do I get this boss to use his abilities against me? I hooked the enemy sackbots up to a controllinator where R2 is to fire energy blasts and L2 is to sprint. I go into the sackbots behavior options to make him act, but I can't use the controllinator that I created for him. He just acts like sack boy. How do I create a fight scene for my bosses?2011-02-04 03:29:00

Author:
rambo3416
Posts: 179


I'm creating a platforming level similar to a Megaman. My Sackbot can shoot energy blasts, jump high, and sprint on the ground and in the air. I made enemy sackbots with similar abilities, including bosses. The problem is, how do I get this boss to use his abilities against me? I hooked the enemy sackbots up to a controllinator where R2 is to fire energy blasts and L2 is to sprint. I go into the sackbots behavior options to make him act, but I can't use the controllinator that I created for him. He just acts like sack boy. How do I create a fight scene for my bosses?

Basically:
Give the enemy sackbots multiple "sackbot brains"
In each brain, use the "record behavior" feature to act out a single action you want the sackbot to perform.
Use logic to activate the different brains at different times.

So for instance, if you were talking about a Rockman 2 boss, one of the big behavior triggers would be when Rock fires his gun. In Crash Man's case this would make him jump over Rockman and fire a bomb down on him. So you'd give this Crash Man a brain circuit for this action (and probably also an anti-grav modifier or a mover or something to make him jump higher and faster) - then when a new shot is detected, if that action isn't already active, activate it...

It might take extra logic to make the sackbot jump toward the player instead of always going the same direction... Honestly I haven't made sackbots with that level of complication yet.
2011-02-04 03:49:00

Author:
tetsujin
Posts: 187


Thanks for responding. The problem I'm having is, when I hit the record button, I can't do anything. He is just like sackboy. When I go back to create mode, he is super powerful, jumping high, shooting energy beams, etc. It's only when I try to record when he can't do anything. Is it because of him being hooked up to a controllinator? Should I just attach logic to his circuit board and not use a controllinator?2011-02-04 04:12:00

Author:
rambo3416
Posts: 179


The sackbot brain recording just records the sackbot's own actions. Other things attached to the sackbot's circuit board (like gravity tweak, mover, emitter, etc.) aren't under the control of the sackbot brain, so they're not part of the recording either. When you're recording, you need to fake it - act out the actions as though the other effects were in place. (You could also change conditions for the purpose of recording - turn down gravity to simulate the augmented jump, etc.) Then use logic circuits to activate those items such that they're synchronized to the sackbot's recorded movement in the way you want. A sequencer may be the best choice, as it'd be easy to adjust the timing to fit your recorded action.

I think you don't want a controllinator in there at all - unless I'm mistaken the only reason for putting a controllinator on a sackbot's circuit board is if you're going to remote-control him.
2011-02-04 04:27:00

Author:
tetsujin
Posts: 187


What you're saying makes alot of sense. I will certainly give this a try. What about shooting though. Should I just use an emitterthat fires energy beams and place it on a sequencer? It seems like media molecule made this as difficult as possible. I know there could have been an easier method to perform all these actions. It's still a great game and a pretty cool concept. Loads of fun. All the logic is confusing at times though. I've spent a ton of time creating this level and properly working sack bots, and I'm still not done.2011-02-04 04:39:00

Author:
rambo3416
Posts: 179


I think that using the record function on the sackbot is the wrong way to go. Personally, I would just rig all the logic to control the bot myself and ignore the bot's "brain" altogether. You can hook batteries and sequencers and so on to a controllinator's inputs to directly stimulate his walk/run/jump/arm movements and such and that way you can perfectly sync them to augmented effects on your logic. In fact, if the augmented effects run off the controllinator, you don't even need to sync them: just stimulate the controllinator directly to do a jump and it will perform your augmented jump.2011-02-04 04:47:00

Author:
Sehven
Posts: 2188


OK dude, first of all, is the sackformers theme you got going on real? That looks so cool. Do you actually use these costumes? If so, you gotta hook me up on where to find it man. Secondly thanks for the response. I just thought in order to get a sackbot to act like a boss, recording his actions seemed correct. So, with the logic, you can actually get him to perform actions like attack me? Can you give any examples of the logic you would use? I know some basic things like what all the different logics do, but how to use them sometimes confuses me.2011-02-04 05:15:00

Author:
rambo3416
Posts: 179


Well I'm assuming that, for example, you've got the controllinator wired so that when you press X, not only does the sackbot jump, but the augmented jump logic you created kicks in too. Is that right? If so, then all you need to do is fire a signal into the X button on the controllinator (controllinator buttons have inputs as well as outputs when they're on sackbots) to trigger the jump. As for programming the entire A.I., that's going to be up to you. You may want a sequencer to run through a series of actions (jump, run left, fire, run right, etc.) or you might want to use a randomizer to randomly select the next move performed, or you might want to go for broke and try to program it to respond to what the player is doing. If you have a short range attack and the player is close, use the short range attack, and if he's far, use the long range attack. If the player fires a shot, jump to try to avoid it, and so on. It's not exactly the kind of stuff I would try on my first lbp level ever, but if you've got some create experience, you should be able to rig something.

The costumes are my creations and I consider them to be my own personal look, so I don't share them (somebody running around in my Optimus Prime costume would basically be running around in a Sehven costume). I've considered making a Transformers level using them and I have some of the vehicles built, but for now I'm focusing on other projects.
2011-02-04 05:46:00

Author:
Sehven
Posts: 2188


I'm making a platforming game where the sackbot I'm controlling is similar to a Megaman. The enemies and bosses will be similar to the hero sackbot. How do I use a sequensor to coordinate a boss fight with another sackbot. Or any other way you can think of to fight another sackbot in a boss fight. Can you also explain some of the logic I would use to coordinate this. It would be much appreciated.2011-02-04 05:48:00

Author:
rambo3416
Posts: 179


I merged your threads: you don't need to start a new thread on the same subject. If you need to, you can edit your first post and change the title to reflect the new direction you want it to take: click "Edit," then "Go Advanced," and the title will be at the top and you can change it.2011-02-04 05:52:00

Author:
Sehven
Posts: 2188


It's cool man. I didn't know if this was DLC that I overlooked or something. That's pretty creative though to make those costumes. I got some cool costumes too that I created that I want to keep for myself, so I understand. I'll try what you suggested. It sounds like it should work. I'm not new to creating on LBP, but some of logic being used just isn't registering upstairs for some reason. I'm getting it slowly though. So when I use a sequensor to execute the boss battle, I just hook up a player sensor to the enemy sackbot to initiate the sequensor right? So once I enter the room the boss is in, the player sensor is activated, and the sequensor starts. That sounds right.2011-02-04 05:59:00

Author:
rambo3416
Posts: 179


Besides the fact that player sensors don't work with sack bots. But you could be following the bot via invis-hover, then the player sensor would work.

You got it. Just remember that the sequencers are used also for triggers for when the player does something. (depending on if you went that way)
2011-02-04 06:18:00

Author:
Devious_Oatmeal
Posts: 1799


Make another Sackbot. Put the Sackbot into a Controlinator. Hook the Controlinator (or the buttons of the Controlinator) into the Controlinator of your Boss. Then record the Sackbot that's in the Controlinator. You'll be controlling him, and he's controlling your Boss. Record for whatever moves you want, using different behavior chips.2011-02-04 07:23:00

Author:
splashpage
Posts: 5


I'll give all these methods a try. Thanks alot. I feel so close to getting all this logic stuff.2011-02-04 08:01:00

Author:
rambo3416
Posts: 179


splashpage is correct. You need another sackbot that sits on a controllinator that controls the boss character. It works beautifully, I used this method to create my test boss fight in the beta:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B2pWLrsbRsU
2011-02-04 09:47:00

Author:
Linque
Posts: 607


Linque wrote:
splashpage is correct. You need another sackbot that sits on a controllinator that controls the boss character. It works beautifully, I used this method to create my test boss fight in the beta:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B2pWLrsbRsU

I see you posted about 3 hours ago. I hope you're still here. So you're the one that created the megaman level. It's one of my favorite user created levels. So, you have a seperate sack bot sitting in the controllinator seat as if he were sackboy? Your boss fight is proof that it works so, I'll do this. Can you also give me some tips on what you did to create those health bars. I currently have health bars that hover over the sackbot's head which is ok, but I'd prefer them to look similar to yours, which was in the corner of the screen. I think I got close to doing it with a follower, but it didn't work quite right. Also, I can't get the logic quite right so that the player's health bar takes damage. I try using a projectile sensor, but I die in one hit. Thanks a lot.
2011-02-04 13:00:00

Author:
rambo3416
Posts: 179


Once I'm controlling the boss with the secondary sackbot, am I recording an act at that point, or do I use a sequencer?2011-02-04 13:50:00

Author:
rambo3416
Posts: 179


I used a randomizer + recording actions. Sequencer works as well, depends on how you want to control it. I found it easiest to do complex attack patterns by controlling the boss myself and recording my actions. You can even mix the two, having randomizer connected to both a sequencer and some recorded actions if you want. You just have to make sure all actions / sequnecers are of the same length so that the boss won't be idle or have overlapping actions.

For hit detection, I use an invisible holographic box that is the same size as the sackbot and follows it around.

To avoid hazards insta-killing, I only use hazard effects on the thin layers for visual effects. Actual damage is dealt with tags.

I sent you a PM regarding the project btw.
2011-02-04 15:14:00

Author:
Linque
Posts: 607


Thank u so much2011-02-05 00:12:00

Author:
rambo3416
Posts: 179


There is no need to have sackbots in dcs's controlling a sackbot.
You can put a behavior chip set to record inside of a microchip and have the microchip turn on to activate the action.
2011-02-05 01:21:00

Author:
Bremnen
Posts: 1800


LBPCentral Archive Statistics
Posts: 1077139    Threads: 69970    Members: 9661    Archive-Date: 2019-01-19

Datenschutz
Aus dem Archiv wurden alle persönlichen Daten wie Name, Anschrift, Email etc. - aber auch sämtliche Inhalte wie z.B. persönliche Nachrichten - entfernt.
Die Nutzung dieser Webseite erfolgt ohne Speicherung personenbezogener Daten. Es werden keinerlei Cookies, Logs, 3rd-Party-Plugins etc. verwendet.