Home    LittleBigPlanet 2 - 3 - Vita - Karting    LittleBigPlanet 2    [LBP2] Everything Else LittleBigPlanet 2
#1

Programing use such as Valuables?

Archive: 20 posts


You know how programers use Valuables?
Is they a way we can use it in LBP2?

Like we can set a sackbot Programing to=
When you talk to him he will say depeing on the Valuable. The Valuable will be "Story"

The Story Valuable is set at 2

There is a guard sackbot and he wont let you pass with out a pass card
(Sackbots programing)
"Story"=2 "Hey you can't pass here with out a Pass Card" he wont let you pass
"Story"=3 "You have a pass Card? ok you can go ahead" now he will let you pass

So since the Valuable was set at 2 each time you talk to him he will tell you "Hey you can't pass here with out a Pass Card"
so you go and get your self a card which when your aquire will increase the Valuable "Story" by 1 making it 3 so now when you go talk to him he will let you pass.
2010-12-01 13:23:00

Author:
Chaos_Martin
Posts: 298


What you're suggesting is actually more complicated than how things are actually done in LBP2. You would simply use AND gates to test for the presence of the security card and the player, and depending on what was present, different AND gates would become active, and hence different magic mouths.2010-12-01 13:27:00

Author:
Holguin86
Posts: 875


Yes, but the whole thing requires on you designing a system for encoding the variables. But say for this one, you use the selector switch so the output index represents your value of story.

Each wire output from the selector is then ANDed with a player sensor to a different magic mouth.
2010-12-01 13:29:00

Author:
rtm223
Posts: 6497


Keep in mind that LBP logic as name say, it's more like wired logic circutry then programing. You can call it it's the "lowest programing languge" even the lower then CPU machine code, since logic circutry is one executing this code (but LBP logic is more like automatisation logic circutry then that) ;] so sence of vartibles here is way diffrent then in programing, it's more about state of components then keeping numeral vartibles in programing

In LBP2 you got diffrent components that can keep the state:

-Most basic, toggles
-Selectors (As mention), that is quite magical compotent and can be used in many unconvetional ways. You can easily set one of option like youir "story example" and even cycle between options
-Counters that you can create pernament switches, set-resets and analog signal setters
-Timers, that can be used as analog sinal (0%-100%) keeper (same as counters but more flexable)

Those componenets will output signal depending on there state and you can make logic react diffrenly depending what signal is send where and filter it using gates

Sensors also got states that they output, but they are depending on what they sensing

Watch MM tutorials in beta they are on youtube you can see al those components in action and you should get general idea. Also you could check logic pack in LBP1 lot of components there works the same way, LBP2 simply got them more simplified
2010-12-01 14:15:00

Author:
Shadowriver
Posts: 3991


Sorry for late reply.

I see well thanks for the infor guys. This just makes me want lbp2 even more now!
2010-12-14 15:14:00

Author:
Chaos_Martin
Posts: 298


but you can use points as variables right? I was wondering... how many sets of points can you have? like for variables such as health, lives, EXP, gold?2010-12-14 15:28:00

Author:
Bernkastel
Posts: 127


rtm223 and other have been working with using the score as a persistent variable but I think they ran into some snags, or at least when transferring it across levels.

You could probably just use counters for most incremental purposes.
2010-12-14 15:54:00

Author:
Foofles
Posts: 2278


so there are easy to use variables for within a single level? but not yet for cross levels?2010-12-14 16:04:00

Author:
Bernkastel
Posts: 127


rtm223 and other have been working with using the score as a persistent variable but I think they ran into some snags, or at least when transferring it across levels.

Apparently something broke in one of the updates. I've not had the time to look into it yet though, so IDK, but the theory is still sound, it's just the implementation that needs checking over.

That said, Upsilandre may well have fixed his by now.
2010-12-14 16:10:00

Author:
rtm223
Posts: 6497


Apparently something broke in one of the updates. I've not had the time to look into it yet though, so IDK, but the theory is still sound, it's just the implementation that needs checking over.

That said, Upsilandre may well have fixed his by now.

Ah I see. Either way there's still plenty of time to get it sorted.
2010-12-14 16:23:00

Author:
Foofles
Posts: 2278


so there are easy to use variables for within a single level? but not yet for cross levels?

Yea, theres no native way to do that and current workarounds on score allows only to transfer 13-bits (13 0's or 1's, true or false, yes or no)
2010-12-14 17:53:00

Author:
Shadowriver
Posts: 3991


current workarounds on score allows only to transfer 13-bits (13 0's or 1's, true or false, yes or no)

I can get the full theoretical maximum of 19 bits out of the system... I just haven't done it yet
2010-12-14 22:11:00

Author:
rtm223
Posts: 6497


Apparently something broke in one of the updates. I've not had the time to look into it yet though, so IDK, but the theory is still sound, it's just the implementation that needs checking over.

That said, Upsilandre may well have fixed his by now.

Yes when i updated the beta to 1.04 (from 1.01, i don't played since a long time) my transfer level was broken
i repaired and upgraded to 16bit
i can do 19bit but my 16bit chip is instantanous decoding. 19bit is more slow
and 16bit is a more conventional value

http://beta.lbp.me/v/zs3w
2010-12-15 22:36:00

Author:
upsilandre
Posts: 12


I can get the full theoretical maximum of 19 bits out of the system... I just haven't done it yet think you can explain how this works? if its ok :o2010-12-15 23:45:00

Author:
Bernkastel
Posts: 127


The LBP1 solution to that is to give the player a sticker.2010-12-16 02:04:00

Author:
ThisDudeRufus
Posts: 170


Yeah but that's only like a simple 1 use thing great for unlocking doors and activating one thing only like but switches.2010-12-17 12:34:00

Author:
Chaos_Martin
Posts: 298


Then as i said, you got lot of stuff in disposal for that toggles, selectors, counters (set-reset, permanent switch), timers2010-12-17 12:46:00

Author:
Shadowriver
Posts: 3991


Then as i said, you got lot of stuff in disposal for that toggles, selectors, counters (set-reset, permanent switch), timers

You can also attach batteries to a microchip and then activate the battery by attaching a wire to the bottom of the microchip. This isn't necessarily better than a counter perm switch, however, the fact that all sensors/batteries/etc can be turned off with the microswitch can be a very handy thing.

For complicated logic that requires low latency you'll need to connect the microchip using a left side input wire connected to an AND gate and 100% battery second input on the AND gate to remove/reduce latency. For normal RPG variables the bottom input method should work just fine though.
2010-12-17 14:59:00

Author:
RoharDragontamer
Posts: 397


Emmmm.... what are you talking about? ^^' Microchip is not state device and can't keep the state (so it can't function as variable keeper), or else it can it have state components in to them.2010-12-17 16:01:00

Author:
Shadowriver
Posts: 3991


I can get the full theoretical maximum of 19 bits out of the system... I just haven't done it yet

my 18bit version
http://beta.lbp.me/v/zs3w

how you make 19bit transfer? max score si 4 000 000
2010-12-17 22:43:00

Author:
upsilandre
Posts: 12


LBPCentral Archive Statistics
Posts: 1077139    Threads: 69970    Members: 9661    Archive-Date: 2019-01-19

Datenschutz
Aus dem Archiv wurden alle persönlichen Daten wie Name, Anschrift, Email etc. - aber auch sämtliche Inhalte wie z.B. persönliche Nachrichten - entfernt.
Die Nutzung dieser Webseite erfolgt ohne Speicherung personenbezogener Daten. Es werden keinerlei Cookies, Logs, 3rd-Party-Plugins etc. verwendet.